All comments are approved by the moderator before publishing.
No anonymous comments will be published.

Wednesday, 29 April 2015

Seniors Stableford

A bit of an ugly day weather-wise at the racecourse today ... cold, windy, rain ... YUK!! Should have tee'd off in the afternoon in the sunshine!! Well done to the twenty-two players who competed and completed their rounds.

The winner today was Mike Pritchard amassing 38pts and earning a two-shot cut to his handicap! Runner-up was John Clark 34pts followed by Richard Cross one point further back.
Full result - click here.

Sunday, 26 April 2015

Bogey Competition

Nineteen players competed in today's Bogey Competition (match play against the par of the course). After a week of nice warm weather, it was certainly a lot chillier today!!!
Just three players managed to beat the course. The winner was Chris Moore just beating Stuart Briginshaw on count-back after both players posted +4. Third place went to Dave Wallin with a score of +1.
Full result - click here.

This is another board competition which counts towards the annual Order of Merit trophy. After an early season run of good results, Stuart Briginshaw leads the way and has opened up an eleven point lead over John Butcher in second place and Allan Trotman currently third.
Latest listing - click here.

Thursday, 23 April 2015

Open Day at the Racecourse

Saturday 25th April 2015

FREE golf lessons with PGA professionals

FREE rounds of golf

FREE use of driving range

For more details - click here

Wednesday, 22 April 2015

Seniors 123 Waltz Stableford

Eleven teams for the seniors 123 Waltz Stableford today played in more warm sunshine.
The winning team with an excellent score of 82pts were Chris Moore, Gordon Turner & Steve Vale. Runners-up were Richard Aldred, Derrick Perrin & Barry Heath with 76pts followed by Rodney Spring, Al Drennan & Roy Whiting just one point further back.
Full result - click here.

Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Seniors Fourball Strokeplay

Beautiful weather at the racecourse today for the Seniors Fourball Strokeplay competition. Sixteen teams competed for the prizes today. Well done to Colin Cox who had to play on his own after his partner had to pull out at the last minute.

The winners today were Allan Trotman & Richard Hook with an excellent score of nett 65. Runners-up, just one shot behind, were Brian Grace & Harry Jackson followed by Paul Tebbutt & Gordon Turner in third place on nett 68.
Full result - click here.

Wednesday, 8 April 2015

Seniors RNLI Stableford

An excellent field of 34 players for today's Seniors RNLI Stableford played off 7/8 handicap. The field included a welcome guest - racecourse "old boy" Jim Green. The weather could not have been nicer ... a beautiful day of warm sunshine and very little wind.
The clear winner today was the in-form Allan Trotman with an excellent 40pts.  Runner-up was Mike Workman (36pts) followed by Gordon Turner 2pts further back in third place. All proceeds from today's competition will go to the RNLI charity.
Full result - click here.

Saturday, 4 April 2015

April Medal

Fifteen players (13 men and 2 ladies) for the April Medal today played in two divisions at the racecourse. Good to see Diane getting back to playing in competitions again!! The warmer weather is not quite here yet, there was still a cold wind blowing out there!!!

In division 1, the scores were all very close. Jeremy Twaits came out on top with nett 72. One shot behind Jeremy was runner-up Andrew Mead followed by Steve Cobb (74) who just pipped Derrick Perrin on count-back.
Full result - click here.

72 was also the winning score in division 2 posted by John Baron. Geoff Denner claimed the runners-up spot on nett 73 followed by Dean Butler two shots behind him.
Full result - click here.

Just one 2 recorded today by none other than Steve Cobb who scooped the jackpot last month and cleaned up again this month!! The 11th hole was again the location of his latest effort - obviously his favourite hole!!

The Owen Millennium Trophy (gross scores) and Summer Medal Aggregate (nett scores) competitions are now under way. The early leaders are Steve Cobb in the Owen Millennium Trophy and John Baron in the Summer Medal Aggregate. Latest listings below.
Owen Millennium Trophy
Summer Medal Aggregate