All comments are approved by the moderator before publishing.
No anonymous comments will be published.

Wednesday, 28 October 2015

Seniors Bowmaker Strokeplay

After a slightly misty start this morning, the sun came through and the players were treated to a beautiful, warm Autumnal day at the racecourse. Today's competition was a Bowmaker strokeplay with 10 teams taking part.
We were very pleased to welcome nine of our friends from Newbury & Crookham who were invited to participate in today's competition and I think they all enjoyed the event.

The winners today were the two-man team of John Butcher & Roger Harman (with a little help from "Doris") on a total of 138. Runners-up were Linda Vale, Bob Evans & Paul Tebbutt with 140 closely followed by Steve Myers, David Catt & John Christopher just one stroke further back.
Full result - click here.

Sunday, 18 October 2015

October Fourball

More chilly conditions for the 7 pairings taking part in yesterday's October Fourball Strokeplay.
The winners were Roy & Sam Whiting with an impressive score of 67. Two teams were next on 68 with Dave Wallin & Jason Allum just beating Richard & Andrew Mead on count-back.
Full result - click here.

This was the final board competition of the year counting towards the Order of Merit. It was extremely close and after yesterday's competition, John Butcher and Andrew Mead were tied on 45pts. The title was decided on count-back (number of wins, number of 2nd's, etc.). Both had 3 wins and no second places, but John Butcher narrowly came out on top with 2 third place finishes to Andrew's one. Well done to both and to Stuart Briginshaw for a very close third place.
Full listing - click here.

Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Seniors Waltz 123 Strokeplay

A chilly day for the seniors today with a cold wind blowing across the course. Six teams of 3 took part in this Waltz 123 Strokeplay competition and the conditions made scoring quite difficult.

The wining team today were John Butcher, Tom Wallin & Richard Cross with a score of 144. Second place went to Paul Tebbutt, Sian Soanes & Jan Hinks (148) followed by Raymond Bilton, Sam Whiting & Linda Vale who just pipped Brian Faithfull, Mike Miller & Colin Cox on count-back after both teams scored 153.
Full result - click here.

Saturday, 10 October 2015

Seniors vs Deanwood

A foggy start for the mixed home match against our friends from Deanwood yesterday. But the sun finally burst through for the back nine to treat the players to a beautiful sunny and warm day. There were six matches of fourball better-ball and the Racecourse won by 5 1/2 to 1/2 claiming back the salver from Deanwood. The nearest-the-pin prizes were won by Steve Vale from the Racecourse and Bill Field from Deanwood.

Afterwards, the players all enjoyed a lovely meal prepared by Karen and her team at Nuffield. Thanks to all for participating in this very enjoyable match.

Wednesday, 7 October 2015

October Seniors Medal

Not the best of conditions for today's October Seniors Medal, but it was mainly dry. For a nice change, there were enough ladies to have a separate medal.

For the men, Geoff Denner was the winner with an excellent nett 69. Brian Faithfull was runner-up with 73 followed by Paul Tebbutt in third place one shot further back.
Full result - click here.

In the ladies competition, Sam Whiting was the clear winner on nett 72. Dianne McIntyre was second with Sian Soanes in third place.
Full result - click here

Just one 2 recorded today by Brian Faithfull but he didn't enter the two's pool so the money will roll over to next month.

Saturday, 3 October 2015

October Medal

A misty and chilly start for the 11 players in today's October Medal, but the conditions soon improved and, yet again, a beautiful sunny day revealed itself!!

The winner today with an excellent 69 and the lowest gross of the day was Jeremy Twaits. Runner-up was Stuart Briginshaw (nett 72) followed by Andrew Mead one further shot behind.
Full result - click here.

Two 2's were recorded today. One was an excellent eagle 2 on the par 4 16th over the pond by John Baron. The other was a more conventional 2 on the par 3 11th by Paul Tebbutt. Unfortunately, John did not invest in the two's pool so Paul took the spoils.

This was the final strokeplay medal of the year and so concludes the Owen Millennium Trophy (best 4 gross scores) and Summer Medal Aggregate (best 4 nett scores) competitions.
Steve Cobb was the clear winner of the Owen Millennium Trophy with a total of 323. Andrew Mead and Jeremy Twaits were second and third respectively. The Summer Medal Aggregate was won by Diane McIntyre with a total of 281. John Baron was runner-up followed by Steve Cobb. Full details below.
Owen Millennium Trophy
Summer Medal Aggregate